1963 - 2013
   "Serving Anson County for 50 Years"


Anson County Schools


Ansonville Elementary


Lilesville Elementary


Morven Elementary


Peachland-Polkton Elementary


Wadesboro Primary


Wadesboro Elementary


Anson Middle


Anson High | Anson New Technology High


South Piedmont Community College (SPCC) | Anson Early College



Elementary and Primary School photos courtesy of The Express Newspaper

The Administrative Offices of the Anson County School System are located
at 320 Camden Road, Wadesboro. The mailing address is 320 Camden
Road, Wadesboro, N.C., 28170. Telephone: 704.694.4417;
Website: www.ansonschools.org.

Anson County is served by six elementary schools, one middle school
(grades 7-8) and three high schools.


Administration Cabinet Members

Michael Freeman, Superintendent
Howard McLean, Executive Director for Teaching and Learning
Marty Godwin, Administrator for Human Resources
Holly Berry, Chief Financial Officer
Mary Ratliff, Executive Director for Student and Administrative Services
Jennifer McLaurin, Administrator for Curriculum and Instruction
Nancy Diggs, Administrator for Exceptional Children’s Program
Sheri High, Testing Coordinator


Board of Education

District 1 - Mike Turner
PO Box 308, Ansonville, N.C., 28007, 704-826-8153 (h)
District 2 - Bobbie Little
10150 US Hwy 74, Lilesville, N.C., 28091, 704-848-8538
District 3 - Beulah Pratt
P.O. Box 18, Morven, N.C., 28119, 704-851-9825
District 4 - Lisa Davis
109 William St., Peachland, N.C., 28133, 704-272-7073
District 5 - George Truman
814 Saybrook Circle, Wadesboro, N.C., 28170, 704-694-5194
District 6 - Frank Liles
3522 Hwy. 109 South, Wadesboro, N.C., 28170, 704-694-1085 (h)
District 7 - Carol Ann Gibson
15 Robin Rd., Wadesboro, N.C., 28170, 704-694-5858
At-Large - Marilynn Bennett
P.O. Box 147, Morven, N.C., 28119, 704-694-4615
At-Large - Brian Johnson
135 Jacks Branch Rd, Wadesboro N.C.,  28170, 704-475-3425



Preston Waddell, Anson Academy
514 N. Washington St., Wadesboro NC 28170.
Carri Decker , Anson County Early College
680 Hwy 74. West, Polkton NC 28135. 704-272-5396
Dionnya Pratt, Anson New Technology High School
118 N. Ashe St., Wadesboro NC 28170. 704-694-7447
Chris Stinson, Anson High School
96 Anson High School Rd., Wadesboro NC 28170. 704-694-9301
Joshua McLaurin, Anson Middle School
832 US Hwy. 52 North, Wadesboro NC 28170. 704-694-3945
Toby McLaurin, Ansonville Elementary
9104 US Hwy. 52 North, Ansonville NC 28007. 704-826-8337
Maresa Phillips, Lilesville Elementary
121 Camden St., Lilesville NC 28091. 704-848-4975
Joslyn Allen, Morven Elementary
6715 US Hwy. 52 South, Morven NC 28119. 704-851-93066
Travis Stegall, Peachland-Polkton Elementary
9633 NC Hwy. 74 West, Peachland NC 28133. 704-272-8061
Willie Owens, Wadesboro Elementary
321 Camden Rd., Wadesboro NC 28170. 704-694-9383
Betsy Ammons, Wadesboro Primary
1542 US Hwy. 52 South, Wadesboro NC 28170. 704-694-4423


Top of Page


South Piedmont Community College

South Piedmont Community College serves Anson and Union counties.

In Anson County, the L.L. Polk Campus is located at 680 U.S.
Hwy. 74-W, P.O. Box 126, Polkton, N.C., 28135.

The Lockhart-Taylor Center is located at 514 N. Washington St.,
Wadesboro, N.C., 28170.

In Union County, the Old Charlotte Highway Campus is located at
4209 Old Charlotte Hwy., Monroe, N.C., 28110.

The telephone number for the Monroe-Polkton-Wadesboro campuses
is 704-272-5300.





Dr. Maria Pharr, President
Michelle Brock, Vice President of Finance & Administrative Services
Elaine Clodfelter, Vice President of Student Services
Dr. Laura Byrd, Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Executive Director of the Foundation
Dan Merle, Vice President of Community & Corporate Relations
Joyce Long, Vice President of Academic Affairs & Chief
Academic Office


Board of Trustees

Jarvis T. Woodburn, Chairman
John Hendley,
Frank Aikmus
Kenneth W. Horne, Jr.
Richard Johnson
Pat Kahle

Sharon Knotts
Bill Norwood
Dr. Charles F. Palmer
Arthur Roos
Dr. Jerry Thomas
Dr. Fred Thompson

Rev. Robert Wells


Top of Page



Anson College of Cosmetology is located at 1217 East Caswell Street in
Wadesboro (U.S. Highway 74-W). Helen C. Rorie is Director.

The school is open year-round. Courses begin monthly and run
continuously through the year. New students may register for classes prior
to the first Tuesday in the month. Financial aid and scholarships are

Anson College of Cosmetology is accredited by the North Carolina State
Board of Cosmetic Arts and is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of
the Council of Occupational Education. Programs preparing students for the
State Board examination are offered in Cosmetology, Advanced Cosmetology,
Teacher Training and Manicuring.

For more information, call 704-694-6677 or e-mail accschool@peedeeworld.net